New Clauses for ISO Standards

ISO has developed Guide 83 to align the clause structure for all management system standards. Where practical, the next revision of management standards such as ISO 9001 (quality) and ISO 14001 (environment) will have identical clause titles, sequence of clauses, definitions, and as much identical text as feasible.

The planned clause structure is shown below. The first three clause titles are identical to current management system standards, but clause 4 through 10 are much different.

1. Scope
2. Normative references
3. Terms and definitions

4. Context of the organization
Scope and expectations for the management system.

5. Leadership
Management commitment, policy, roles, responsibilities, and authorities.

6. Planning
Risks and opportunities, and objectives and plans.

7. Support
Resources, competence, awareness, communication, and documented information.

8. Operation
Operational planning and control.

9. Performance Evaluation
Monitoring, measurement, analysis, evaluation, internal audits, and management review.

10. Improvement
Nonconformities, corrective action, and continual improvement.

ISO 22301:2012 was the first management system standard to be organized in the new Guide 83 format. The next revision of ISO 9001, planned for 2015, will adopt the new clause structure.