ISO 9001:2015, 0.6

Clause 0.6 in the Introduction section of the draft ISO 9001:2015 standard is titled, “Compatibility with other Management System Standards.”  It notes that ISO 9001:2015 has adopted the new high-level structure developed by ISO to improve the alignment of its management system standards. The high-level structure is defined in Annex SL of the ISO Directives and provides common:

  • Clause sequence
  • Text
  • Terminology

The ISO 9001:2015 requirements are defined in an order that is consistent with organizational planning and process management:

  • Context of organization and its system and processes (Clause 4)
  • Leadership, policy, and responsibilities (Clause 5)
  • Processes for planning and considering risks and opportunities (Clause 6)
  • Processes for support, including resources, people, and information (Clause 7)
  • Operational processes related to customers, products, and services (Clause 8)
  • Processes for performance evaluation (Clause 9)
  • Processes for improvement (Clause 10)

Clause 0.6 states organizations are not required to follow an identical clause sequence when defining their quality management system. However, they are encouraged to use the Process Approach as described in clauses 0.3, 0.4, and 0.5 (see our October 2014 newsletter articles).

As before, ISO 9001 does not include requirements specific to other management systems, for example:

  • Environmental management
  • Occupational health and safety management
  • Financial management

If desired, an organization can use the process approach, coupled with the PDCA methodology and risk-based thinking, to align or integrate its quality management system with the requirements of other management system standards. The new common clauses, terminology, and text being used in all new and revised management system standards should make system integration much easier.