New FMEA Handbook

To improve the FMEA development process and make it easier for automotive manufacturing suppliers to meet the needs of their customer during the Failure Mode and Effects Analysis process, AIAG and VDA have harmonized their previous “regional” FMEA manuals into a single, co-copyrighted handbook. This handbook uses best practices from each manual and a process-oriented approach to meet the  requirements of both industry groups.

The 7-Step Approach

The most noticeable change in the AIAG and VDA FMEA Handbook is the new 7-step development approach. It is more structured and increases the multidisciplinary team’s effectiveness and efficiency.

1. Planning and Preparation

2. Structure Analysis

3. Function Analysis

4. Failure Analysis

5. Risk Analysis

6. Optimization

7. Results Documentation

Planning and  Preparation

Another major difference is the enhanced direction of FMEA planning and preparation, which is the first step of FMEA development. It determines the analysis boundaries (what included and what excluded); applies the 5T’s (InTent, Timing, Team, Tasks, and Tools); prepares baseline FMEAs with lessons learned; and includes clear definitions of roles and responsibilities.

Criteria Specificity

The new handbook includes more specificity in the criteria to determine levels for Severity, Occurrence, and  Detection ratings. In addition, Action Priority (AP) replaces Risk Priority Numbers (RPN’s).

Additional Changes

1. Detailed Introduction chapter that emphasizes and clarifies the foundations necessary to develop a robust FMEA.

2. Seven steps for DFMEA.

3. New section called Supplemental FMEA for Monitoring and System Response.

4. Seven steps for PFMEA.

You can download a free white paper on the new FMEA Handbook at this AIAG webpage.